Skip to content

MBC Mommy Chronicles: So Its The Middle of the School Year!

January 19, 2013
Sissy, Mommy and Bubby

Sissy, Mommy and Bubby
“psuedo kids names are kewl!”

. . .and I only now decide to start blogging. Honestly, I had thought about creating one for a while now, but I am just really excited to be getting underway. So here are the particulars, my husband and I live on a pretty modest income so we are always trying to find ways to stretch our enormously tight budget. In the current economy I can imagine this is probably a story none to unfamiliar for many people. God bless you folks going through it, I feel your pain!

Getting on with things, I am mommy to two amazing kids(I know, I know all parents say this 😀 ). Sissy, my daughter, is 5 and Bubby my son is 2. This blog is basically about them, detailing our early learning strategies, books, tools, activities and tricks and erm…pitfalls as they progress. These are their stats:

Sissy 5yrs old (6 by the end of March):

DSCN1624

Virtual Academy/K12 Curriculum

Grade: Kindergarten

Reading Level: 3rd grade (highest before she looses interest, any higher the book content goes right over her head)

Math Level: 2nd grade (I supplement her regular school work with School Zone  math books, printable worksheets and other activities to keep her on track)Currently Reading: Anne of Green Gables, Pinkalicious and adores picture books!

Extracurriculars: Piano (Primer B, six pages from Level 1) and Gymnastics: Beginning level 3

Loves: Ducks, Princess Squirrels, Alvin and the Chipmunks, WordGirl, Art

Personality: Sweet, strong, independent, good-natured, friendly

Science, History, Art and French, she is pretty much grade level. I have no complaints about  the K12 curriculum on the whole. I find it  very thorough. It does take some getting used to though. There is A LOT of work and it can get overwhelming if you allow it to. For me I think it is the best thing since ever! Before I got started I read so many reviews about the program, some positive, some negative, some scary to be sure..(lol).. but if you’re like me, I NEED structure, otherwise I tend to procrastinate. This program keeps me accountable.

If you have read anything about virtual schools, its basically public school at home. Everything is done through the approval of the Board of Education. Your child WILL be regularly tested to make sure their scores are meeting or exceeding the required standards of the state. Each school usually has its own student life so, if socialization is something you are interested in, definitely ask around. So far my daughter has attended several social gatherings, math events and field trips. I will post pics of that soon. It was pretty much like going to a regular field trip as I remember it as a kid except there were many more parents present. There isn’t a bus, you will need to take your own child. The school offers many of the same programs and incentives for students as they do in public school (Book It, Study Island), with some additional perks; Art, music and other contests, that can be entered online.

Now about my son Bubby:

Bubby 2 years old (3 by the end of August):

DSCN1626

Knows his letters, numbers, colors, basic shapes.

Can sound out three letter words

Speaks in full sentences but does not fully pronounce his words. (we are working on this)

Loves: Cars, trucks, planes, trains, ABC’s, making mischief in Sissy’s room, good food, riding his bike round the kitchen table, grandma and teddy bears

Currently Potty training =)

Personality: Confident, funny, amazing sense of humor, helpful, cuddly, warm, friendly, territorial, doesn’t give up.

I try to allot my time equally between the two children during the day, needless to say, Sissy usually ends up getting the better part of it. Bubby and I will spend more time together during the later part of the day. Right now Bubby is interested in playing the violin like mommy (yep, over 23 years) he wants to sit on my lap touch it, strum it, hold it up to his ear. It is so cute! He will get one after he is three, but I will be working with him on note recognition and familiarizing him with more classical pieces in the mean time.

So this is pretty much where we are right now, Stay tuned, more updates to come!

One Comment
  1. Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

Share your thoughts